No-confidence motion against Speaker submitted with 54 signatures

The Parliamentary Group (PG) of the Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) has submitted a no-confidence motion against Speaker of Parliament Mohamed Nasheed with 54 signatures.

The removal of the speaker or deputy speaker requires a majority vote from parliamentarians. Specifically, if all 87 members are present, a minimum of 44 members must vote in favor for the no-confidence motion to pass.

The MDP PG consists of 56 members and four of the members had refused to sign the no-confidence motion. However, the motion includes signatures from Leader of the Maldives Development Alliance (MDA) Ahmed Siyam Mohamed and independent members Abdulla Jabir, Mohamed Nasheed Abdulla, and Ibrahim Naseem.

Majority Leader of the Parliament Mohamed Aslam has said the decision to submit the no-confidence motion was reached due to concerns regarding Speaker Nasheed's alleged violation of the Constitution and parliamentary regulations. He highlighted instances where Speaker Nasheed violated rules and regulations and emphasised that the party had provided the speaker with multiple opportunities to rectify his behavior before reaching the decision to submit a no-confidence motion. He further noted that the delay in taking this step was due to the speaker's respected position within the party.